Independent Practice – Final Major Project: Squeak Idea’s 2

Here are some more design idea’s for Squeak’s redesign done out of pen:

img_20161015_0011

This first image is again me attempting to recreate the shape of the mouse from my previous attempts, unfortunately this attempt isn’t the best at all, I was unsuccessful in capturing the essence of the mouse. I decided that maybe it wasn’t the best way to go with a realistic mouse for Squeak so I will go for a cartoonist styled anthropomorphic mouse. My first attempts at this are the three the top two images and the bottom one. The top two were more focused on using the shapes again to capture the humor of the character that I can actually picture. Personally I believe the designs are or at least the heads of the mice are begin to look more mouse like the more I actually draw. This time I used several images of mice to help me understand the physical appearances and properties of mice to a some what accurate degree.

Image result for mice

This image belongs to Canberra Pest Control

img_20161015_0012

As you can see I have used the image of the mouse that I found online as a reference for drawing this page of drawings, mainly for the facial proportioning of the character. Some of facial experiments for Squeak’s were successful recreations of a mouse face to a certain degree the only difference from the original image is that the eyes are slightly bigger and it is a sketch that is drawn in my own style. The only negative with these sketches is the fully body shots look more like random sketches. I will need to try to work more on this, maybe get some more images for me to study and sketch out. I will need to focus more on various mouse images to help understand the correct proportioning, size and shapes of Squeak and then be able to transfer this to paper in a correct method.

img_20161015_0013

This next image was a an attempt to put my character in certain situations to help me understand and utilise the anatomy of a mouse successfully to that situation. Hence why the lumpy drawing of the mouse drinking from the water dispenser is on the page, I drew this drawing to show how Squeak would react to drinking from a water dispenser as well as throwing in a different angle to the sketch to see how that would effect not only the character but also give us the audience a better understanding of the characters appearance and personality.  Two other sketches were also attempts at putting Squeak in certain situations to not only breath life into him but also show how he would react to these situations.

img_20161015_0014

This next page of sketches focused on again working with Squeak’s interaction with the environment or prop again. The first sketch was a slight success in the sense that I managed to capture the mouses body structure and movement from the first image of a mouse that I have found and placed in the blog. The rest of the sketches on this page were experiments with Squeak moving or waving at the audience.

Image result for mouse

This image belongs to IFLScience

img_20161015_0015

This next image the sketches were more experiments to see if I could again successfully recreate how a mouse moves a stands using the images that I have gathered for study. My main focus in this image was again how a mouse stands and sits since this is key to the my actual animation as it is how the character acts to certain situations.

img_20161015_0016

This image of sketches was for facial proportioning, scale and shape as well as practicing of body positioning and hand sizes and positions as well.

img_20161015_0017

One thought on “Independent Practice – Final Major Project: Squeak Idea’s 2

  1. Pingback: Year Overview: Year 3 Blog Content | amtanimator

Leave a Reply

