Narrative: Their Pride and Joy Research and Inspirations

This section of the Their Pride and Joy Brief is to focus on the Research and Inspiration to help give ideas for the design, development and Final Ideas. I will be doing the research for all three modes of transport mentioned within the Brief. The first Image I chose was a standard row  boat, the reason why I chose this is because one it is a classical means of water transport but also it looks really old fashion and has a pull that draws the attention of the target audience towards it with this vintage feel to it. Another reason why I chose this is that it is also a good way to get started in means of getting used to drawing a boat shape for this Brief, when I draw other boat designs for this brief. The simplicity also helps with the design because it is easy to use and to fit into. The next image is a speed boat/yhot hybrid, I chose this as one of my research means due to the fact that it’s design is not only aesthetically pleasing but it also has a future/post modern feel to it that helps draw the attention of the audience to it. They are also fairly easy to transport means that they can be easily placed on a trailer or into the ocean/sea. The next boat image taken is that of a boat speed racing, why I chose this image is due to the fact that it’s design is quite interesting because it focuses on speed due to it’s aerodynamic allowing it to move quickly as well as looking aesthetically pleasing. This is also interesting because it has opened up a word off different boat based designs that focus on this sort of shape.

The reason why there is a submarine image on this post even though a sub was not specified in the brief is that it gave me an idea for a boat that can submerge just like a submarine. This would a add a interesting feature to my boat design as well as make it more appealing to the audience. Another reason why I chose this image is because the shape is unique and could be used later on.

The next image is for the car section of the Brief. I chose this image due to the fact that it gives a general idea about what a car would look like for what I might base my car design on. Another reason why I chose this image is due to the fact that the shape used for this model of car is very fascinating and could be useful later on.

Now this image may not be a car but the reason why I chose it is because of this, most bike designs that are seen today to do with the modern day are quite unique and each has their own design due to customization. So the reason why I chose this because I like the design due to it’s unique and interesting appearance as well as the general idea of a two wheeled vehicle.


The reason why I chose this is because I think to develop a new idea we have to go back to the classics to do so. So I chose a very old car model for my means of inspiration to help me with car designs later on.

I chose the pelican from Halo due to the fact the design appears somewhat modern but at the same time it appears to be futuristic, which adds a field of interest as well a awe to it due tot eh fact that it can fly better then any modern day tech but at the same time appears quite Primitive. Another reason why I chose this is because it gives of a unique feel that draws your attention to the design.

I chose this image due to the fact that I found the idea of jet powered flight a interesting concept means of transport for both people and resources. Another reason why I chose this is because the shape of the actual plane is very interesting and allows a large range of idea to be created from it.

Artists:

Paul Christopher: A concept artist who specializes in vehicle concept art, the reason I find him inspiring is due to the fact that some of his piece are incredible both in detail and in appearance as well, due to the fact that they are so creative.

Theses images here are perfect example of his work and what I meant by how incredible they are. I find theses pieces produced by him very inspiring due to the fact that he takes into account, the world, the environment and who uses this vehicle when he draws them.

He currently is working in the Entertainment Industry in LA. Click here to check his blog and Official Web page:

Blog

Official Web Page

Scott Robertson: Scott Robertson is a concept Artist that is known for his concept art in transport/vehicles, he has also design several concept pieces for films and has published several drawing guides such as Costume Design and Illustration.

Click here to see some of his works:

I find him inspiring due to the fact that not only does he specializes in Concept Art for transport/vehicles but also due to the fact that his work expands to all most anything that you can think of from creatures/beings to buildings and facilities, he can draw master pieces of them.

Leave a Reply

